The Secretariat of the Asia-Pacific Bioinformatics Network (APBioNet) is pleased to announce the results of the office bearer position appointments and the formation of the new Executive Committee (, following the results of the recent election for the term 2018-2020.
Dr. Mohammad Asif Khan from Perdana University, Malaysia, who has been an ExCo member since 2010 and has served in various roles, is the President-elect. Dr. Khan is the fourth President to serve and lead APBioNet, and will be supported by two Vice Presidents, a Treasurer and Secretary. The Immediate Past-President and a long standing ExCo Member, Dr. Christian Schoenbach from Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan will serve APBioNet in his role as the Vice President for Conference and Outreach. Dr. Yam Wai Keat, from Perdana University, Malaysia, helms the position of Vice President (Education and Research). Dr. Ong Hui San and Dr. Ranjeev Hari, from Malaysia, are appointed as ExCo Treasurer and Secretary, respectively.
Dr. Bruno Gaeta of University of New South Wales, Australia, Dr. Kenta Nakai of University of Tokyo, Japan, Dr. Ge Gao of Peking University, China and Dr. Sissades Tongsima of BIOTEC, Thailand will support the office bearers in their role as ExCo members.
Congratulations to all the ExCo members on their appointment to lead APBioNet for the term 2018-2020.  A vote of thanks goes to the outgoing ExCo members of the 2016-2018 term, led by the Immediate Past-President Dr. Christian Schoenbach.
The new ExCo aims to lead and pioneer new frontiers for the development and growth of bioinformatics in Asia-Pacific.